New Beginnings

(This is reposted from my short-lived Wix blog…)

So here I am at the start of a new era.  It’s an era heralded by some major changes…

Firstly, I’ve started this blog (obviously) and am finalising reinstating my website in an updated incarnation.  In this digital age, it’s essential to move with the times, and a strong web presence is important in helping anyone who wants to get their work “out there” internationally.  I’m still not sure exactly what I’ll be posting here, but I hope it will be both informative and helpful for others out there looking to express themselves through creative means, particularly photography.

And the second change?  Well, I’ve gotta go back to my childhood to explain that one…

At the age of three, I was bullied by a kid with curly blonde hair called Robert.  I feared and hated that kid, and ever since, I’ve hated the name Robert.  This is unfortunate since it is my middle name, after all!  I also hated curly hair and intentionally avoided eating bread crusts (which I loved to eat) since well-intentioned adults told me it would make my hair curly.  Yes, Robert has a lot to answer for!  My evil step-grandfather Bob didn’t do much to help my hatred for the name Robert either!  And that brings me to the second major change…

I have decided to let go of the past and have embraced my middle name.  I discovered there is a disturbing proliferation of photographers called Adam Young.  As a freelance photographer, my name is my brand, and so in order to have a clear brand image that is not confused with others, this is something I feel has to be done.  From this point on, the name I will be known by will be Adam Robert Young.  Actually, I kinda like it now, it has a nice rhythm to it.

That brings me to the end of my first blog entry.  I’ll leave you with my favourite shot of 2012 so far (at least among the ones I’ve taken)…

This is a shot I took a couple of days ago in Chebei urban village, Guangzhou.  I love the innocent exhuberance of the boy, and I feel it’s a fitting image for my maiden blogpost.  I’m sure I’ll be uploading more photos from Chebei and other communities like it as the blog continues, so stay tuned…

