Change of perspective

Life looks a lot more interesting when you view it from a different angle.

Change of perspective

I saw the people sitting on the bench in an atrium of Zhongshan No.1 Hospital in Guangzhou, and left my wife waiting in the stairwell while I raced to a higher level to see how it looked from above. It was just as I had guessed, and I expect I’ll be returning on numerous occasions to capture different combinations of people in various positions on the same benches over time. I just wish I had a medium-format camera to capture more of the detail, as that’s where the interest lies for me.

Each person has a story, and the things and people around them, their clothes and their actions all provide a small clue to their tale. This small, seemingly insignificant scene reignited my passion for photography and I look forward to creating some kind of series around this…

2

