Vietnamese men with big cocks

I know, it’s not exactly the first thing that pops into your mind when you think of Southeast Asian countries, but I’ve seen them with my own eyes, and it’s more common than you’d imagine.

It seems these guys love their cocks more than their own children sometimes – I’ve seen them outside their homes or even at the local cafe stroking them, caressing them, feeding them…

3

Oh, you didn’t think I meant… No! Wash your brain out with soap! As cock fighting is an extremely popular – albeit illegal – pastime here in Vietnam, it’s quite common for men to breed roosters to enter in local matches. I don’t condone or support any activity that promotes mistreatment of animals, but it is something that is as much a part of life here for many as anything else I could photograph.

10

Wanting to capture an essential part of local culture here in Saigon, I set out one weekend a while ago trying to find some guys willing to pose with their roosters for some portraits.

9

It was a lot harder than I had expected. While breeding or raising roosters is not illegal, fighting them is, so most people I talked with were worried they would be implicated with such activities if they were seen in a photograph with their bird.

Vietnamese man holding his cock #2

Still, a few guys obliged, and I got enough images to allow me to remember this curious aspect of Ho Chi Minh City life.

7

8

2

Vietnamese man holding his cock #1

11

I first got the idea to take pictures of these guys when I saw one of them in my local cafe – read about it here .

In the process of taking these photos, I did stumble on a rather large cock fighting ring with about fifty guys standing around betting on fighting birds. Understanding the sensitivity of the situation, I kept my camera down and backed away slowly – you never know what lengths people will go to ensure the authorities don’t know about their illegal activities! Luckily it seems they didn’t see me take a couple of snaps before they spotted me, but I won’t be posting those ones here!

