Lydia’s shoot in Saigon

I admit it, I’m kinda in love with the crumbling apartment complex at 727 Tran Hung Dao. Most of you have seen my other posts about the place The Block, Life in the Block, and Tran Hung Dao – From Riches to Rags. Recently the Saigon Photographic meetups group took a trip to the place. I went along, but was feeling uninspired and had to leave early for another shoot anyway, so I only took a single shot. This one:

Pieces

I did, however promise myself to return to the place at a later date to shoot some portraits. I wanted to combine the gritty location with a more traditional Vietnamese vibe. So when my sister-in-law came to stay with us for a while – my sister-in-law who loves to pose for photos – I figured now was as good a time as any. We picked up a traditional Vietnamese non la (the conical hats that scream Vietnam) at the local market for about $1, and a paper fan for about 20c. We climbed up to about the tenth floor and took some photos. I quite liked the results, so I figured I’d share them with you all here (their popularity on Flickr and 500px was the last push I needed to create this post).

Lydia

Lydia

Lydia

Lydia

Lydia

Lydia

Lydia

I’m currently looking for models for my next few shoots (non-commercial, like this one), so if you’re in Saigon and know of anyone who might be keen, please have them drop me a line via my website. Cheers!

