Goodbye Vietnam (I’ll be back)…

So my time living full-time in Asia has come to an end. I have now settled back in Australia – in Brisbane to be exact. This retrospective post about my time living in Ho Chi Minh City is long overdue!

After three attempts at writing this post, I’ve come to the conclusion that I will not be able to sum up my experience in Vietnam in a single post. I experienced so many highs and lows, met so many amazing people and had so many doors open (and some close) that there is no way to tie it all up in a little neat package.

Instead, I’m going to simply share some photos from my time in Vietnam that are significant to me for one reason or other, and if you are curious, you can always scroll through my homepage to dig deeper into the stories.

So here goes…

Nam

Sisters

Coal

Downtime

Art museum ghost

Bling - Vietnam-style

Christina

Timomatic

Saigon Opera House

Lydia

Kelly Rowland at Color Me Run

Wifiman

Eye of the Tiger

View 10

Kids 6

Farmer 2

Boat 2

Saigon - District 2

Oi August Cover

Non-reviewed dish 1

Adrian Anh Tuan

23

8

D11 10

DuckPanorama

4

Color Me Run, Ho Chi MInh City, 2014

Timomatic 121

Rice Lady

Day event 65

Multitasker

Hindu Temple 1

5

Rice Farmer 1

Hardcore

Show 16

Banh Xeo Night Stand 4

Vietnamese man holding his cock #2

SaigonKitsch Audrey 1

gyc

Notre Dame Cathedral, Saigon

Cover-Oi-December-2013-724x1024

2

15

15

Nam

Uncle

Curiosity = hunger

45

1a

21

Kids

Ty

Family

Minority village 1

North walk 1

Atmospheric alley

While I no longer call Vietnam my home, I’ll definitely be making trips back regularly to conduct photography workshops and tours. There is also talk of a continuing the series of books that started with Saigon Panorama – stay tuned for the announcement of which city is next (it’s all hush hush at the moment). And of course I’ll be back to visit my wife’s side of the family from time to time.

I have to say a big “thank you” to Vietnam for giving me such a rich and rewarding experience, and I look forward to seeing what treats you have for me in years to come!

