Getting back to the streets

It seems it’s time for me to get out and shoot just for me. With all the time I’ve spent recently shooting for others (even Saigon Panorama is technically not MY book – I did it on commission for a publisher in Vietnam), it feels like I’d almost forgotten what it is to make photos just for the enjoyment of the process itself, and for the expressive outlet photography can be.

The following photos were taken over the last couple of weeks at King George Square, Brisbane. Most are in the escalators that go down to the underground bus stop. The central theme is the isolating effect the city can have on individuals – it’s an inorganic construction whose stark, steely lines are indifferent to the multitude of people who pass by.

King George Square

King George Square

King George Square

King George Square

King George Square

King George Square

Actually, I love the city, and Brisbane is finally beginning to grow on me. There’s a new collection of photographs on their way…

